Our Mission

Promoting Undergraduate Research

Founded at Tulane University by six undergraduate students, The Tulane Journal of Policy and Political Economy seeks to further political and economic research by providing undergraduates with the opportunity to have their own original research published in an internationally-recognized, peer- and faculty-reviewed journal. 


By maintaining an international network of faculty, students, and organizations within the world's foremost academic institutions, we ensure that accepted student writings reach far beyond their home schools.


Our Vision

Biannual Publication and Collaboration

The Tulane Journal will publish issues twice a year, available as a physical copy or in digital form. Publishing with The Tulane Journal not only disseminates original, scholarly research, but also provides writers and contributors with a collaborative editorial process.


All accepted articles will undergo a rigorous review by faculty at Tulane University, who specialize in the core, intersecting themes of The Tulane Journal. The Tulane Journal and its involved students aim to be at the forefront of policy and political economy research.

Our Executive Board
Max Weber
Tulane University '22

Max's background in activism and political campaigning is reflected in his focus on international political protest. He hopes to continue his studies of Political Economy and Russian into a career in academics, where he will focus on post-Soviet activism. When he's not organizing events or working in Tulane's admissions office, he can be found learning Russian or enjoying a brisk bike ride.

Jada Roth
Managing Editor
Tulane University '22

Jada is pursuing her degree in Chemical Engineering and hopes to work in the biotechnology or pharmaceutical industry one day. A native of Tempe, AZ, Jada certainly misses the desert, but she is greatly enjoying her time in the big easy. She is excited about channeling her passion for journalism and politics through her involvement with the journal.

Michael Chen
Chief Operating Officer
Tulane University '21

Michael applies his studies in Political Science, Social Policy & Practice, and History through his research on nursing discrimination, LGBTQ+ judicial politics, and the rise of right-wing European politics. Outside of academia, he works for local political campaigns, serves as the Vice President for Finance on Tulane's Undergraduate Student Government, and enjoys exploring local restaurants.

Westley Sturhan
Chief Financial Officer
Tulane University '22

Westley is studying Political Economy and Public Health. One day, he hopes to apply his studies and pursue Health Law. He is also the president of Tulane Engineers without Borders, a Habitat for Humanity aficionado, and a huge fan of Star Wars.

Murad Laradji
National Outreach Director
Tulane University '22

Murad is from Memphis, TN and is majoring in economics and neuroscience. He currently does research in data science and genomics at the Tulane School of Medicine, with interests in behavioral economics and neurodevelopmental disorders. Murad enjoys running, dark roast coffee, and watching Brooklyn 99.

Our Staff
Assistant Directors of Operations

Lily Conroy

Hometown: New Orleans, LA

Tina Alhani

Hometown: Atlanta, GA

Joseph Noguera-Zuniga

Hometown: Baton Rouge, LA

Ritchie Whitney

Hometown: Hahnville, LA

Regional Outreach Coordinators

Zach Berg

Hometown: Glen Ellyn, IL

Will Brzezinski

Hometown: Great Falls, VA

Rachel Landis

Hometown: El Paso, TX


Abigail Ford

Hometown: Cambridge, MA

Batu El

Hometown: Izmir, Turkey

Kai Golden

Hometown: Santa Cruz, CA

Jordan Peck

Hometown: St. Louis, MO

Lauren Flowers

Hometown: Oak Park, IL

Maggie Green

Hometown: Weatherford, OK

Romy Whitesell

Hometown: Chapel Hill, NC

Our Faculty Review Board
Dr. Mark Vail

DR. MARK VAIL Professor, Tulane Department of Political Science | The Murphy Institute

Dr. Douglas N. Harris

DR. DOUGLAS N. HARRIS Department Chair, Tulane Department of Economics

Dr. Joe Keating

DR. Joseph Keating Associate Dean, Tulane School of Public Health

Dr. Engy Ziedan

DR. ENGY ZIEDAN Professor, Tulane Department of Economics

Dr. Patrick Button

DR. PATRICK BUTTON Professor, Tulane Department of Economics

Dr. Chad Van Schoelandt

DR. CHAD VAN SCHOELANDT Professor, Tulane Department of Philosophy

Dr. Laporchia Collins

DR. LAPORCHIA COLLINS Professor, Tulane Department of Economics

Dr. Rosalind Cook

DR. ROSALIND COOK Professor, Tulane Department of Political Science

Dr. Thomas Oatley

DR. THOMAS OATLEY Professor, Tulane Department of Political Science | The Wilson Center for International Affairs

Dr. Jonathan Riley

DR. JONATHAN RILEY Professor, Tulane Department of Philosophy

Dr. Ruth Carlitz

DR. RUTH CARLITZ Professor, Tulane Departments of Political Science and Africana Studies

Patrick Testa

DR. PATRICK TESTA Professor, Tulane Department of Economics | The Murphy Institute

Dr. Drew Kinney

DR. DREW KINNEY Professor, Tulane Department of Political Science

Dr. Felix Rioja

DR. FELIX RIOJA Professor, Tulane Department of Economics

Need more details? Contact us

We are here to assist! Connect with us through our social media or via the form on our Contact page.

Join our mailing list
  • Instagram
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black LinkedIn Icon